The Chakra System

The chakras are discs of energy that power the physical, mental and emotional aspects of who we are. The seven main chakras correspond to the seven rainbow colors which reverberate at different speeds and progressively slow as energy condenses and is given form by the elements; violet being the fastest vibration down to red, the slowest vibration.  The combination of the various chakras generates the aura, the electromagnetic field of the body. Through the auric field we receive, assimilate and transmit Shakti on various levels of experience and consciousness.

Chakras can be thought of as programs which are lodged in our cells and direct our thoughts, belief systems, reactions and habits.  The content of the chakra program is formed by our past experiences (samskaras), families, culture and circumstances that we are born into. This content is then directly influenced by our subsequent thoughts, reactive actions and repeated patterns.

Each chakra color corresponds to specific thoughts, feelings and emotions. For example the 4th chakra, the heart chakra, is interconnected to the color green which represents warmth and can give you the sense of freedom, harmony and peace in you body and soul. The color green can help you to feel both compassion and empathy for yourself.

Color can be used diagnostically to identify and heal mental, emotional and energetic blocks that are hindering wellness and can be used as guiding lights to show you where you are in regard to your life purpose. Colors themselves can be used in various ways to make corrections and to support the healing process.

Color can be used therapeutically to release the restriction of narrow mental habits and help us to be more flexible in our thinking. By becoming aware of our chakra programs and understanding their powerful influence we gain valuable insight into our thoughts, emotions, feelings and behavior. This insight empowers us to be more responsible and to take a more participatory role in the creative process of being who we are.

Chakras and Meditation

By working with color through meditation and color imagery visualizations we can create opportunities for personal growth that helps to reprogram chakra content and release unfavorable aspects about ourselves, negative habits and thoughts that can cause illness and keep us from experiencing peace, health and joy in life.


Color Breathing

In essence color breathing uses the breath as a vehicle upon which the energy of color can be placed and moved throughout the body to promote healing from within, as well as around the outside of the body, in the auric field, to form a protective barrier.


Color Imagery

Essentially, color imagery involves imagining color around the body. Color is inherently connected to our thoughts and feeling and can be used to elicit changes in our perspective which subsequently influences our emotions.  Each color has its own affect and can be utilized to bring about desired changes.


For example:

The color red gives you the ability to be aware of feeling comfortable and secure in your own body. Red can be used to increase awareness and the ability to take advantage of opportunities. The color red helps you to feel more grounded, to have more energy to make changes, and to not engage in situations that do not benefit you.

Contact Irene to learn more about how to use colors to make the changes you want in your life.

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)


Your Message


Comments are closed.